It’s Raining Grilled Cheese in Kensington

Today,  my friend Lisa and I headed to the streets of Toronto in search for some comfort food given the dismally rainy day.

We ended up at The Grilled Cheese; located in Kensington on Nassaua, just west of Agusta.

When we first arrived at our destination, which was recommended by my roommate, we were unsure. At first glance, it appears as somewhat of a hole in the wall, mind you, as does most of the area. None the less, we decided to enter the restaurant and it had a really rustic, but cool, vibe. When we first arrived there was one other customer, but even though it was middle of the afternoon the place ended up being filled with people by the time we left.

The menu consisted of approximately ten grilled cheese options. I ordered the BLACK JACK, which was $6, and added avocado and bacon, which were an extra $2 each. As you can likely tell from the photo below, it was delicious. I really enjoyed the olive pesto, which was something I certainly never imagined including on my standard grilled cheese. My meal also came with a side of rippled potato chips and a big juicy pickle – two perfect pairings for grilled cheese. The meal was nothing short of amazing; reasonably priced, tasty and fulfilled my desire for comfort food. I would definitely go back.

TheGrilledCheese

My delicious BLACK JACK, yumm!

One key thing to keep in mind is that this is a CASH only restaurant, which I was not aware of and resulted in Lisa buying my lunch (Thanks Leese 🙂 ).

After lunch we decided to do a bit of shopping in Kensington. I ended up getting an awesome pair of earrings at Kid Icarus, but we wrapped our afternoon up quickly due to the rain.

Sadly, The Grilled Cheese doesn’t have a website I can share with you, but while I was hunting for it I came across an old BlogTO post naming The Grilled Cheese as the top spot to get grilled cheese in the city. Check the article out here: http://www.blogto.com/toronto/the_best_grilled_cheese_sandwich_in_toronto/

2 thoughts on “It’s Raining Grilled Cheese in Kensington

  1. Everyone loves a great grilled cheese sandwich! Living downtown exposes you to all the many, many restaurants that Toronto has to offer.

Leave a Reply

